The Condo Group Bastion Square Grand Prix: 20th anniversary video vignettes

by Raymond Parker on June 11, 2012

in Cycling, Photography, Racing, Video

The Condo Group Bastion Square grand Prix capped off the 2012 Robert W. Cameron Law Cycling Series on June 3, with plenty of excitement for the thousands who turned out to catch the action on the streets of downtown Victoria.

In 2010, I  produced a video of the exciting criterium, after shooting stills of the rainy road race, the day before, out beyond Sooke.

I noticed a flurry of traffic on the 2010 video before last year’s event, when the official series website embedded it. Nevertheless, despite having graduated to HD video, I concentrated on stills of the criterium.

I find it difficult to transition between thinking in still and motion, so last week I focussed my brain on moving pictures. The following is 720HD, so go full screen and adjust quality accordingly.


Trek Red Truck’s Jenny Lehmann sprinted to the finish in the 45-lap women’s elite race, ahead of Lisa Howard and Shoshauna Laxson.

Team H&R Block Justin Kerr took the elite men’s race in 1:19:27, with team mates Adam De Vos and Cody Canning (Trek Red truck Racing) taking second and third.

Top 10

Women – Cat 1, 2, 3

1. Jenny Lehmann 55:34
2. Lisa Howard (Local Ride)
3. Shoshauna Laxson
4. Mical Dyck
5. Megan Rathwell (Russ Hay’s / Accent Inns)
6. Erin Redl (Glotman Simpson)
7. Dawn Anderson
8. Kristine Brynjolfson
9. Ann Yew
10. Rhonda Callender

Men – Cat 1, 2

1. Justin Kerr (Team H&R Block) 1:19:27
2. Adam De Vos (Trek Red truck Racing)
3. Cody Canning (Trek Red truck Racing)
4. Garrett McLeod
5. Rob Britton (Team H&R Block)
6. Greg Christian (Garneau Evolution)
7. Jesse Reams (Hagens Berman Cycling)
8. Jeffrey Sparling (Pro City Racing) :06
9. Tyler Trace
10. Kris Dahl (Team H&R Block)

Series Omnium

Women – Cat 1, 2, 3

1. Jenny Lehmann (Trek Red Truck) 75
2. Megan Rathwell (Russ Hay’s/Accent Inns) 66
3. Kristine Brynjolfson (Trek Red Truck) 63
4. Shoshauna Laxson (Trek Red Truck) 55
5. Erin Redl (Glotman Simpson) 51
6. Morgan Cabot (Glotman Simpson) 41
7. Janna Gillick (Mid Island Velo Association) 39
8. Jennifer McMahon (Glotman Simpson) 31

Men – Cat 1, 2

1. Rob Britton (Team H&R Block) 70
2. Adam De Vos (Trek Red Truck) 59
3. Greg Christian (Garneau Evolution) 57
4. Garrett McLeod (Team H&R Block) 48
5. Noah Bloom (Garneau Evolution) 47
6. Kris Dahl (Team H&R Block) 42
7. Craig Richey (Team Raleigh) 35
8. Justin Kerr (Team H&R Block) 30
9. Jesse Reams (Hagen Berman) 29
10. Cody Canning (Trek Red Truck) 26
11. Alex Cataford (Glotman Simpson) 24
12. Curtis Dearden (Russ Hay’s/Accent Inns) 20

{ 0 comments… add your spin! now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: